love is around me

Tiger Lilies from our market……..cheap and lasting!

I love flowers, any flowers as long as they are fresh flowers.

Ah Ma adores flowers too. She will always check out the market place for the best bargain and timing.

Although it was a Thursday, she could not resist. We normally buy them on Sundays for me to be able to enjoy them at my work station during the entire week!

With such beautiful blooms, I am glad Ah Ma bought them.

If you love flowers and it puts a smile on your face too….just pay RM10 to RM 16 for 2 to 4 stalks of Tiger Lilies.

Try and capture how it transforms……moment to moment

your eagerness for the flower to bloom,

your urging desire for it retain its spectacular blossom,

your sadness when it wilts and surrendering it to the trash

And before too long, you will be expecting the next bouquet……

Conversations with loved ones..

Dad is on leave. He has taken opportunity of the long Eidul Fitri holidays to visit his old friends up north in Alor Setar.

That will leave Ah Ma highly handicapped or immobilised!

Relief driver, make Ah Ma gets to the market to buy her stuff or my ears be stuffed

Long overdue conversations took place….

We had quite a conversation on the way from home to the market. I had asked her; “Mum are you upset that you are losing the sight of your right eye?”

Before she could answer me, I thought I had guide her along towards not feeling sorry for herself.

“Mum, you probably feel blessed that you had full sight the last 70 years and losing them now meant you had already maximised its existence for such a long time!”

“You are still able to see despite it; and many are so “blind” although they have both good eyes to see!”

She let me rattled on and when I finished,….she coolly answered me;

“I am blessed that “they” are only taking my right eye, I might have “lost” more…..it could be something else! You know what I mean?”

I smiled.

New Company….

Angie comes in timely to fill the vacuum in Ah Ma’s life. Angie makes Ah Ma feel needed and purposeful.

Angie becomes Ah Ma’s excuse to cajole, advise and teach. Endless joy bringing up a child….but who is the child here?

Ah Ma is behaving more childlike as she aged….she can be as naive and “difficult”. Therefore, you get fantastic laughs and smiles when these 2 beautiful children interact…….

 

Leave a comment